I’m not much on alternative translations of the Bible, primarily because I think if we are to try to discern the truth of God’s word, that we should stick to a translation that is as close as possible to the original words.  That said, I saw Matthew 11:28-30 out of The Message on Our Daily Bread this morning, and it brought tears to my eyes:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30 – The Message

The unforced rhythms of grace…how my soul longs for a personal and spiritual place where I am able to throw off all of the cares of this world, the pain and sorrow I have struggled with, the trials I still walk through…just to be able to move into a relaxed and genuine walk with Jesus that requires nothing but my honest repentance and faith and from which my spirit is freed to fellowship with him in peace and harmony. I know I am jaded in some respects from experiences with people I thought were believers, only to see the lies that define their lives and their “faith”. And I contend with my own past, seeing where I was and what it took for God to turn me around and follow Him.  It’s still painful…”But God…being RICH in mercy…”  And THAT is why I continue to walk…

DSC_0151

 

2 thoughts on “Rhythms of Grace…

  1. My choices of translations of the Bible are the King James Version and the American Standard version. Nice post. What others do to us in this life can cause us to stray from following God. Being and doing what God wants us to be and do takes constant effort on our part.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

