My intention for my writing going forward is to be done with exploring the past pain and heartache I’ve experienced, because after a while you have to be done with it. That said, there are some valid things to be stated that are part of that moving forward process.

First, if you claim a faith in Christ, then own it. Stop waiting for some silly sign to give you approval for you to live like YOU want to all while getting to sport your “Believer” badge for others to see. The book of First John is very clear on this point: “Whoever says “I know him” but does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him…” I John 2:4 (ESV) He’s not a cosmic vending machine, he’s our Redeemer, but the redemption is proven by our fruit.

Second, while pain and sadness have their place in working change in the lives of believers, they are not the end result. The point of them is not to dwell in them, the point of them is to cause us to see Jesus working a change for good in our hearts, and for us to step up and actually start living that change.  Again, from First John:  “And now, little children, abide in him, so that when he appears we may have confidence and not shrink from him in shame at his coming.” 1 John 2:28 (ESV) Abide means “to act in accordance with…” which is another way to say “live like what you say you believe”. And I believe in the finished work of Jesus Christ in my life, so I need to act in accordance with that.

Finally, it has always been hard for me to stomach being told to “move on”, because really, how do you do that? But I’ve gotten to the place where I know it is necessary if I don’t want to be a slave to the past and all the crap that the past represents. I wouldn’t go back to that even if I could, so why would I allow myself to wallow in the pain that it brought me? God has revealed clearly that anyone who was involved in that pain didn’t care about me, and they no longer have a place in my world. And to be honest, that makes me happy. Those who are in my world now are the ones who love and care for me, and they deserve to be here. So I’m going to give them the love and respect they deserve by serving them through the grace that is a gift from God. And I’m going to keep moving on, one step at a time.

dsc_1689crop

2 thoughts on “Signs, Wonders…and moving on…

  1. Beautiful photo. Moving on from hurt and pain is so hard. I know, I struggle with trying to forget the past and leave those behind who caused me so many problems. But, like you Damon, I am continuing forward one step at a time. Great heartfelt post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

